Thursday, June 11, 2020

Hymn Reveal Music Video For “Exit Through Fire” Via Metal Injection

Norwegian sludge metal duo Hymn, has just unleashed a music video for "Exit Through Fire", the leading single from their forthcoming second album "Breach Us", which is set for release on August 28th via Fysisk Format Records

The video created by Christian Samuelsen has premiered at Metal Injection, who commented "the band's new song "Exit Through Fire" today, which is nothing less than a sludgy crawl through razors and the ensuing anguished screams." 

 Recorded and mixed by Kim Lillestøl at Amper Tone Studios in Oslo, “Breach Us” is a gargantuan tour de force and a testament to man’s will to exert discipline and human direction to the universal powers of chaos. "Our goal at Amper Tone Studio was to set things up basically as we do on live shows." Says the band. "Facing each other, Marshall JCM 800 and Simms Watts 120 in stereo and a Ampeg 810 stack on full blast. Gibson Les Paul with 74 gauge strings and a couple of fun effect pedals and we are ready to go. We don't want to record anything that we can't perform live, but of course, we always get inspired during the recording process and “shit happens”. That is what makes this band special to us; with only two people there is always room for quick turnarounds and improvisation. We ended up recording the whole thing in about 48 hours." Pre-orders are now available at this location.

Friday, May 22, 2020

Ormskrik Reveal New Track "Helheim" Via Metal Injection

Norwegian blackened thrash metal newcomers Ormskrik have just unleashed a new track from their forthcoming self-titled debut album due out on June 5th via Fysisk Format Records

Titled “Helheim”, this new track is now playing at Metal Injection at this location

"Helheim is a tale of the Norse envisionment of the home of the goddess Hel, sung in our mother tongue of Norwegian.” Says the band about this new track. “The song features fast rhythms and complex harmonies, along with a killer bass groove that serves as a finale." 

If you missed it, leading single “Descend to Madness” is still streaming here

Produced by Daniel Bergstrand at Dugout Productions and mixed by Lawrence Mackrory at Obey Mastering, “Ormiskrik” features eleven hyper-eviscerating and ferocious tracks fusing bay area thrash, Norwegian black metal and Swedish death metal. Pre-orders are now available here.

Thursday, May 21, 2020

Norway's Barren Womb Stream Entire New Album “Lizard Lounge” Via Decibel Magazine

Nordic noise rock duo Barren Womb are now streaming their entire new full-length album ‘Lizard Lounge’, just one day ahead of its release tomorrow, March 22nd through Loyal Blood Records.

‘Lizard Lounge’ is now playing in full at Decibel Magazine, who commented “Lizard Lounge is being touted by the folks at Loyal Blood Records as “Quicksand meets Clutch meets Refused.” This is a decent start, but we’d implore you to not omit/forget about Melvins, Cows, Fugazi, Big Business, Rocket from the Crypt, Botch, Sabbath, Zeppelin, Torche and any number of bands from the AmRep and Gravity Records catalogues.”

Listen to ‘Lizard Lounge’ here.

“Trim the fat.” Said the band about the new album. “That was the unspoken mindset when we started writing Lizard Lounge. The resulting ten tracks are stripped of all pomp and frills, tightly focused instead around the essence of what this band is: pummelling drums, scathing guitars, deadly rhythms and strangely catchy melodies. We really left no cross unturned when digging around for these slabs of noisy weirdo rock. The title itself, part shadow government and part Hunter S. Thompson acid paranoia, reflects upon the waiting room all of us reptilian brained meat bags call home. Apathy, cancer, conspiracies, death, depression, destruction, diabetes, incels, rednecks and a sprinkling of meth – this album truly has it all.”

Wednesday, May 13, 2020

Norwegian Power Punk Rock Duo Hot Nuns Reveal New Song “Can’t Get Over You” Via Heavy Blog Is Heavy

Norwegian power punk rock duo Hot Nuns, featuring members of Blood Command, has recently shared another track off their forthcoming EP “Rude, Dumb & Anxious”, which is set for release this Friday, May 15th via Loyal Blood Records.

Titled “Can’t Get Over You”, this new track is now playing at Heavy Blog Is Heavy, who commented "Rude, Dumb & Anxious, is power punk goodness, full of blazing riffs, vocal harmonies, and just a whole load of fun.”

Listen to "Can't Get Over You" here.

Recorded at SpaceKraft, mixed and mastered by Simon Jackman and with artwork done by Robert Høyem, “Rude, Dumb & Anxious” features four new tracks including a cover of The Boys’ “First Time”.

The duo comments on the album. “The record is four tracks of stripped down punk rock. Its only drums, bass and our vocals. We have a rule that if we can’t play it live we can’t put in on record either. So there is no cheating here. Not trying to be pretentious, but we try to make music the same way Lars Von Trier made Dogville. No fancy extra layers needed to get the story across. The lyrics are mostly about sad losers longing for love except the title track «Rude, Dumb & Anxious» who is about people who will say whatever about stuff they don’t know just to fit in and look good.”

Thursday, November 28, 2019

Australia's Ploughshare Unleash New Track “Indistinguishable Beast Of Flight” Via Cvlt Nation

Australian death-metal experimentalists Ploughshare have recently unleashed a new track titled “Indistinguishable Beast Of Flight” off their new EP “Tellurian Insurgency”.

The track has premiered at Cvlt Nation, who commented “I don’t know how to describe what Australia’s Ploughshare have created here – they’ve recorded the sounds of Hell onto wax.”

Listen to “Indistinguishable Beast Of Flight” here.

Featuring three new songs plus a remixed version of “In Offal, Salvation” by Andrew Nolan, “Tellurian Insurgency” is set for release tomorrow, November 29th on limited 12” vinyl via Brilliant Emperor Records and on CD/Tape via I, Voidhanger and Night Rhythms. Pre-orders are now available at this location.

Sunday, December 3, 2017

URUK (Ft. Members Of Zu, Triple Sun And Coil) Reveal Excerpt First Album Via Echoes And Dust

URUK, a new musical endeavour created by Massimo Pupillo from Zu and Triple Sun and Thighpaulsandra from Coil, have revealed an excerpt from their forthcoming debut album “I Leave a Silver Trail through Blackness”, due out on December 8th through Consouling Sounds. Pre-orders are available here.

Listen to this excerpt now via Echoes and Dust at this location.

Photo credit: India Banks.

Thursday, November 30, 2017

Feared Share Video For “Your Black Is My White”

Swedish death-metallers Feared, featuring current and former members of The Haunted, Dååth, Suffocation and Clawfinger, have just shared an animated music video for “Your Black Is My White” off the band’s forthcoming sixth album “Svart”.

Watch the music video featuring drawings by Johan Ejerblom (ArtByEjerBlom) and directed by Hugo Andersson below.

Guitarist Ola Englund had this to say about the video: “The video for Your Black is My White is about Frida, a married woman who suffered a tragedy of losing her daughter in a drowning accident. Now she struggles through life living in two worlds, reality and nightmare. The accident is tearing apart on her relationship. In the video the worlds shifts and in the end reality is the nightmare and her everyday perfect life is her dream. Video producer Johan Ejerblom really did a great job capturing the Feared-vibe.” 

Mixed by Mark Lewis (Cannibal Corpse, Trivium, Whitechapel, etc…) and featuring the artwork of Sylvain Lucchina, the follow-up to last year’s critically acclaimed fifth album “Synder” will be released worldwide on December 8th, 2017. Pre-orders are now available at this location.